Philadelphia Will Do  
 

But joy is wisdom, Time an endless song

Today’s Inquirer sex column by Faye Flam must have inspired some editorial meeting discussion before it ran. It’s, essentially, a movie review of a set of sex instruction tapes called Better Sex Video Series, which is actually a remake of a 1991 series of the same name. (Truly, not since they remade House of Wax has there been such an important update on film.)

It’s, eh, fairly graphic for something in the Inquirer — though tamer than anything we have in the back of PW. (And thank God for that.) It’s also funny and entertaining and, really, totally unlike the Inquirer that I wasn’t really sure I was reading the Inquirer until I got to the last paragraphs:

“Better Sex” did give a realistic and comprehensive overview of the mechanics of sex and its most popular variations. It just didn’t capture much passion. [...] Perhaps it’s related to what W.B. Yeats was getting at when he said the tragedy of sexual intercourse is the perpetual virginity of the soul. But to remedy that could take more than a $49.85 set of videos.

Ahh, a Yeats reference. That’s the Inquirer I know and love. I believe that puts both Paper Doll and Steve and Mia in check. Your move, guys.

‘Better Sex’ tapes: True education or porn? [Inky]
Feb. 23: I Am Curious (Yellow)
Feb. 24: I’d just be happy she had insurance

  1. S&M Says: Feb 27 5:19 PM

    Yeats? Foo! Steve & Mia quote Celine (and not the Dion one):
    http://www.spokane7.com/culture/stories/?ID=1401

    We will not be outdone on pretentious drivel!

  2. dmac Says: Feb 27 5:40 PM

    I stand corrected. My next question: Which sex columnist will quote Immanuel Kant first?

  3. Jane Says: Feb 1 7:20 PM

    http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/cancion-del-mariachi-morena-de-mi-corazon.html >Cancion Del Mariachi Morena De Mi Corazon [url=http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/cancion-del-mariachi-morena-de-mi-corazon.html]Cancion Del Mariachi Morena De Mi Corazon[/url] http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/cledgy.html >Cledgy [url=http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/cledgy.html]Cledgy[/url] http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/jemma-kidd-make-up.html >Jemma Kidd Make Up [url=http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/jemma-kidd-make-up.html]Jemma Kidd Make Up[/url] http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/home-phone-service-verizon.html >Home Phone Service Verizon [url=http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/home-phone-service-verizon.html]Home Phone Service Verizon[/url] http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/led-flasher-schematic.html >Led Flasher Schematic [url=http://membres.lycos.fr/katherinepatricio/led-flasher-schematic.html]Led Flasher Schematic[/url]

  4. Halo Says: Feb 4 4:43 PM

    http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/free-math-game-and-puzzle.html >Free Math Game And Puzzle [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/free-math-game-and-puzzle.html]Free Math Game And Puzzle[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/foods-that-cause-acid-reflux-chart.html >Foods That Cause Acid Reflux Chart [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/foods-that-cause-acid-reflux-chart.html]Foods That Cause Acid Reflux Chart[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/download-sailor-moon-games.html >Download Sailor Moon Games [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/download-sailor-moon-games.html]Download Sailor Moon Games[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/carlyle-group-merck.html >Carlyle Group Merck [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/carlyle-group-merck.html]Carlyle Group Merck[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/ethics-in-goal-setting-in-business.html >Ethics In Goal Setting In Business [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/graceslater/ethics-in-goal-setting-in-business.html]Ethics In Goal Setting In Business[/url]

  5. Rustie Says: Feb 5 2:53 PM

    http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/removing-permanent-marker-from-furniture.html >Removing Permanent Marker From Furniture [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/removing-permanent-marker-from-furniture.html]Removing Permanent Marker From Furniture[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/customer-requirements-survey.html >Customer Requirements Survey [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/customer-requirements-survey.html]Customer Requirements Survey[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/refoam-motorcycle-seat.html >Refoam Motorcycle Seat [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/refoam-motorcycle-seat.html]Refoam Motorcycle Seat[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/north-of-scotland.html >North Of Scotland [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/north-of-scotland.html]North Of Scotland[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/lined-drapies.html >Lined Drapies [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/lined-drapies.html]Lined Drapies[/url]

  6. Rustie Says: Feb 5 2:53 PM

    http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/removing-permanent-marker-from-furniture.html >Removing Permanent Marker From Furniture [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/removing-permanent-marker-from-furniture.html]Removing Permanent Marker From Furniture[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/customer-requirements-survey.html >Customer Requirements Survey [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/customer-requirements-survey.html]Customer Requirements Survey[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/refoam-motorcycle-seat.html >Refoam Motorcycle Seat [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/refoam-motorcycle-seat.html]Refoam Motorcycle Seat[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/north-of-scotland.html >North Of Scotland [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/north-of-scotland.html]North Of Scotland[/url] http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/lined-drapies.html >Lined Drapies [url=http://mitglied.lycos.de/carlhoward/lined-drapies.html]Lined Drapies[/url]

  7. Mura Says: Feb 25 8:33 AM

    http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/cset-single-subject-math.html >Cset Single Subject Math [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/cset-single-subject-math.html]Cset Single Subject Math[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/super-mario-advance-2-rom.html >Super Mario Advance 2 Rom [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/super-mario-advance-2-rom.html]Super Mario Advance 2 Rom[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/artificial-fruits.html >Artificial Fruits [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/artificial-fruits.html]Artificial Fruits[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/self-starters.html >Self Starters [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/self-starters.html]Self Starters[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/sitemap.html >Sitemap [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/sitemap.html]Sitemap[/url]

  8. Mura Says: Feb 25 8:33 AM

    http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/cset-single-subject-math.html >Cset Single Subject Math [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/cset-single-subject-math.html]Cset Single Subject Math[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/super-mario-advance-2-rom.html >Super Mario Advance 2 Rom [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/super-mario-advance-2-rom.html]Super Mario Advance 2 Rom[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/artificial-fruits.html >Artificial Fruits [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/artificial-fruits.html]Artificial Fruits[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/self-starters.html >Self Starters [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/self-starters.html]Self Starters[/url] http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/sitemap.html >Sitemap [url=http://utenti.lycos.it/walterhill/sitemap.html]Sitemap[/url]

  9. Jane Says: Feb 26 12:10 AM

    http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/procomp-mud-terrain-tire.html >Procomp Mud Terrain Tire [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/procomp-mud-terrain-tire.html]Procomp Mud Terrain Tire[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chicago-industrial-design.html >Chicago Industrial Design [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chicago-industrial-design.html]Chicago Industrial Design[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chasing-liberty-movie.html >Chasing Liberty Movie [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chasing-liberty-movie.html]Chasing Liberty Movie[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/washington-mutual-bank-branch.html >Washington Mutual Bank Branch [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/washington-mutual-bank-branch.html]Washington Mutual Bank Branch[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/kidsville-poway.html >Kidsville Poway [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/kidsville-poway.html]Kidsville Poway[/url]

  10. Jane Says: Feb 26 12:10 AM

    http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/procomp-mud-terrain-tire.html >Procomp Mud Terrain Tire [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/procomp-mud-terrain-tire.html]Procomp Mud Terrain Tire[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chicago-industrial-design.html >Chicago Industrial Design [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chicago-industrial-design.html]Chicago Industrial Design[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chasing-liberty-movie.html >Chasing Liberty Movie [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/chasing-liberty-movie.html]Chasing Liberty Movie[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/washington-mutual-bank-branch.html >Washington Mutual Bank Branch [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/washington-mutual-bank-branch.html]Washington Mutual Bank Branch[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/kidsville-poway.html >Kidsville Poway [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/kidsville-poway.html]Kidsville Poway[/url]

  11. Hero Says: Feb 26 4:13 AM

    http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/brine-xp3-lacrosse-helmet.html >Brine Xp3 Lacrosse Helmet [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/brine-xp3-lacrosse-helmet.html]Brine Xp3 Lacrosse Helmet[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/oldsmobile-aurora-body-parts-used.html >Oldsmobile Aurora Body Parts Used [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/oldsmobile-aurora-body-parts-used.html]Oldsmobile Aurora Body Parts Used[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/analisis-of-symptoms-from-salem-witch-trials.html >Analisis Of Symptoms From Salem Witch Trials [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/analisis-of-symptoms-from-salem-witch-trials.html]Analisis Of Symptoms From Salem Witch Trials[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/best-gas-mileages-in-cars.html >Best Gas Mileages In Cars [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/best-gas-mileages-in-cars.html]Best Gas Mileages In Cars[/url] http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/government-property-seizure.html >Government Property Seizure [url=http://medlem.jubii.dk/karengolden/government-property-seizure.html]Government Property Seizure[/url]

Leave a Reply

Name *required

Mail *will not be published, required

Website

Submit